RSS

19 May
We lie loudest when we lie to ourselves.
Eric Hoffer

Lies…we all tell them from time to time. We learn to lie when we are young. We lie about sneaking the candy from the jar, we tell our mom’s that our imaginary friend knocked over the vase and insist to the end that it wasn’t us, we lie about putting a dent in the car (“I don’t know where that came from, someone must have hit my car in the parking lot), we lie all the time. But the person we tell lies to the most and the person we tell the biggest and worse lies to is…ourselves. We are so quick to believe those lies too. It seems that we would rather believe the lies we tell ourselves than the truth that is out there. 
One of the biggest lies we tell ourselves and are more apt to believe than all the others is this…

  I’m not good enough!

Wow, that’s a big one for most of us, if not all of us. Now, to be fair, I know a few people in this world who think they are more than good enough, in fact, they believe they are better than everyone else. But you know, I would dare to say that 9 times out of 10, those people just act that way, but are really as insecure on the inside as we are. So, back to my point…
I’m not good enough is the biggest lie we tell ourselves! We feel less than all the time. I’m not a good student because I don’t have straight A’s; I’m not a good friend because I forget to call that person all the time; I’m not a good daughter/son because my parents seem to favor my brother/sister over me; I’m not good at sports (or maybe for you it’s the artsy side), so I am not good enough; I’m not a good mom because I don’t always get on the floor and play with my child, instead I’m doing laundry or dishes; I’m not a good husband/wife (for any number of reasons); I’m so stupid; I should have done better; I’m not pretty enough; I’m not skinny enough; He/She’s better than me/more popular, etc.; I’ll always be this way, its just who I am. We tell ourselves these lies once and then we begin to tell them to ourselves over and over again until we believe them so much that when we are faced with the truth, we cannot accept it. I have believed quite a few of these lies and so much more over the last 31 years of my life. I still struggle with them every single second of every single day. Those lies play over and over in my head in almost everything I do and I don’t always win the battle against them, in fact, 8 out of 10 times I would say I lose. It’s painful and discouraging and downright depressing when that happens. And the old song “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me” is so not true! The saying should go (especially when we are the ones to say these things to ourselves) “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will break my heart.”
I want to submit to you some thoughts and I hope that you really, truly ponder this as I am really, truly pondering this today.
Psalm 139 is my “life chapter”. The very first verse starts off with:

“O Lord, you have examined my heart and know everything about me.”

He knows us through and through. He sees everything!! Nothing escapes his sight. Let me quote some more because it is just too good…

(7-16) “I can never escape from Your Spirit! I can never get away from Your presence! If I to heaven, You are there; if I go down to the grave, you are there. If i ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me. I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light to become night – but even in the darkness I cannot hide from you. To you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are the same to you. You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous – how well I know it! You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life is recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.

OK, so to start off here we see that God knows everything about us! He made us! He knows where we go, he know what we think, he knows when we are trying to hide from Him and the rest of the world. He made us! He saw us even before we were created in our mother’s wombs! He recorded every day of our life even before we were born!! But to top it all off…check this verse out:

(17-18) “How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me!”

 See there what he says about God’s thoughts toward us? Have you ever tried to count the grains of sand when you go to the beach? Have you ever tried to count the stars in the sky? There are just too many to count. God’s thoughts towards you and I are even more than that! It’s a number we cannot fathom! That is how many times in one day he thinks about us…more than we can fathom!

Jeremiah 29:11 says it well…”For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.

He has only good plans for us! He cares about us! So, shouldn’t we work hard (with his help and guidance) to think good things about ourselves so that we may be able to experience the blessings of those plans??

Remember...I am talking to myself here as well! Not just you!!!

I guess for the moment, I will leave us all with this…

Who I am and what I struggle with are not the same thing.” -Jennifer Rothschild

 Just because you struggle with the lies doesn’t mean that you are the lies! 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
