RSS

21 Jun

You know when you hit that point where you realize that you desperately need a specific, desperate prayer to come true immediately? I’ve been there…heck, I am there right now in at least one way. I don’t deserve to have this cry for help work…I don’t deserve for God to answer my prayer and provide me with the very thing I need the most…

To deserve something, according to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, means “to be worthy of”. I am not worthy of anything. I messed up…I made a mistake that put me in this place (an honest mistake, but a mistake nonetheless) and here I am. I don’t deserve for God to step in and make it better. I don’t deserve for God to care even.

Thankfully, because God is my father and Jesus is my Savior, He does care. He may not make it better for me in the sense that I am asking for right away. I may have to deal with it and work my way back from it over time, but God cares.

When you think about getting what you deserve or not, what comes to mind? Do you feel you deserve to have everything your little heart desires? Do you feel you deserve to have the family that you do or the life that you have? Or do you feel that you don’t deserve any of the good that is in your life? You see, if we got what we deserved, we would be in hell. Yes, you heard that right…if we got what we deserved, we would not be here…we would be in hell.

Listen to this Scripture:

2 Timothy 1:9 – “For God saved us and called us to live a holy life. He did this, not because we deserved it, but because that was his plan from the beginning of time – to show us His grace through Christ Jesus.”

I don’t deserve to go to heaven…I am full of sin, but God gives me the chance at heaven anyway…not because I deserve it, but because he loves me!  And because He loves me and has a plan for me, I get to go to heaven when I die! How wonderful is that? Instead of burning forever, I get to go to heaven because God loves me and He is my father.

Deserve…such a big word isn’t it? We use it on ourselves, we use it on others and we feel the prick when others use it on us. Praise God that He doesn’t give me exactly what I deserve!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
