RSS

Guard Your Heart

13 Jul
“If you set out to be liked, you would be prepared to compromise anything at any time, and you would achieve nothing.” ~Margaret Thatcher
I ran across this quote this morning on my iGoogle page. It’s amazing how true this statement actually is. When I was younger, all I wanted was to be liked by others, to have friends, to be popular, to make others happy. After all, isn’t that what most teenage girls want? We are bombarded with movies and images in magazines and on websites of teenage girls and women who are skinny and popular. We see women in our own circles who are obsessed with being thin. We are sent this message that unless you are a size 2, a cheerleader or such that you are not good enough. It’s no wonder we grow up with low self esteem and so many body issues!


The Bible says that we are created in God’s image:

“So God create human beings in his own image. In the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.” -Genesis 1:27 (New Living Translation)

If God created us in his image, then we are beautiful wether or not we are a size 2 or a size 20. It doesn’t matter to Him!

“Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb. I thank you, High God – you’re breathtaking! Body and soul, I am marvelously made! I worship in adoration – what a creation! You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something. Like an open book, You watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you, the days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.”
Psalm 139:13-16 (The Message)

He made us to be just the way we are. What he cares about is not on the outside, it’s what’s on the inside.  He wants us to love him and by loving him we learn to love ourselves, not in a selfish, vain way, but to love who we are in Christ and who God made us to be.

The quote I listed in the beginning of this post says, If you set out to be liked, you would be prepared to compromise anything at any time.” This is so true. I have seen it time and time again and I have even made compromises because I wanted to be liked.

Casting Crowns wrote a song called “Slow Fade”. The chorus states:

“It’s a slow fade when you give yourself away
It’s a slow fade when black and white have turned to gray
Thoughts invade, choices are made, a price will be paid
When you give yourself away
People never crumble in a day
It’s a slow fade, it’s a slow fade”

When we want to be liked, we don’t immediately say…I’m gonna try that drug because I want them to like me…or…I’m gonna sleep with that guy, because I want him to like me. These are not the first thoughts in our heads. We start off small…I won’t say anything to my friend who is doing drugs…or…I’ll let him kiss me a little longer. It’s small, it’s slow until one day we are at that place where we have made every compromise we can and have hit the bottom.

Proverbs 4:23 states: “Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life.” (New Living Translation) We have to guard our hearts from anything that is not in God’s will, if we don’t, we are in for great heartache and possibly even greater consequences.

I will leave you with the words from a Steve Green song:

“Guard your heart
Guard your heart
Don’t trade it for treasure
Don’t give it away
Guard your heart
Guard your heart
As a payment for pleasure
It’s a high price to pay

For a soul that remains sincere with a conscience clear
Guard your heart”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
