RSS

Battles

16 Jul
“You might have to fight a battle more than once to win it.”
~ Margaret Thatcher

During a war, there are many smaller battles that come together to help one side or the other win the war. When a battle is won, the soldiers advance on to fight another battle and another until finally the war is won. 
Each one of us has at least one battle that we fight daily, sometimes for the majority of our lives. For some it could be an addiction; for others self-esteem issues. Some may fight lust and some may fight hate. Some may fight being in the center of God’s will whether at home or on the foreign mission field. Whatever it is, we are all fighting a battle every single day. If you recognize that you fight a constant battle, than the above quote by Margaret Thatcher holds a lot of weight with you. I know it does for me.
We fight and fight to try to win the war against our problem and when the battle is won, we sit back, relax and breathe a sigh of relief, only to notice the next day or two weeks later, that we are having to fight the same battle all over again. We sit and wonder, “Why am I dealing with this all the time? I am sick and tired of this! God, why do I have to continually work through this and fight my way out of it?” 
Some of our battles we may only fight for a season before we finally win the war; such as self-esteem issues or hate. Some of our battles we will fight until the day we die and that is when we will finally win the war.
Some of our wars are fought because we made a decision and are now living with the consequences. Some of our wars are fought because God is allowing them in our lives to strengthen us and cause us to rely on Him and not ourselves and to not be prideful.
Paul said in 2 Corinthians 12:7-9; “even though I have received such wonderful revelations from God. So to keep me from being proud, I was given a thorn in the flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from being proud. Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weakness, so that the power of Christ can work through me.”
Paul’s war was fought until death. We don’t know what the “thorn in his flesh” was, but it could have been anything from an addiction to a physical ailment. The point behind this is that there was a reason  he fought the battle. It was to keep from being prideful. 
One of the biggest battles I have faced, I touched on some in my last blog…Self-Esteem. I’m a girl, we’re supposed to be (according to society) thin and beautiful at all times. I have struggled with that for years. Over the last few years, I have been fighting hard to win this war. I am finding, with God’s help, that my individual battles are lessening and that the end of the war is nearer than ever before. I don’t care if I am a size 2 like society says I should be, all I care about now is that I am healthy.
I, like most of you, have more than one battle to fight and therefore more than one war to win…some I will fight all of my life, some I will win sooner rather than later. 
What wars are you fighting? What wars do you feel like you are losing? Just remember, you will have to fight some of your battles over and over again before you will finally (and with God’s help you WILL) win the war!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
