RSS

One Year!

13 Aug

I looked at the calendar and realized that it has been one year since I started this blog! That may not seem like much to some of you, but for me, this is a huge accomplishment. When I was a little girl I used to write in my diary all the time. You know how it goes…”Today we went to the park and had a picnic. Tomorrow is my sister’s birthday”, etc. Then, when I became a teenager, it became more about drama…”I can’t believe she did that! I hate it when she acts like that!”…you know how it goes. I also used to write, not just in my diary, but actually write. I wrote poems, short stories, even started a book or two. It’s true! I used to have such a passion for writing and I would have told you that, among being a singer and actress, I was going to be a writer. Somewhere along the line, I got hung up with life and love and worries and fears and anxieties and such and I lost my passion for writing. Then, when I wanted to write again, I found I simply couldn’t. I was blocked. There was no way to get my thoughts out and put on paper in any legible or understandable way. I kept trying to journal over the years, but I never went more than a week or two with it. I have two very nice journals sitting in a drawer that have only about 20 pages filled in each. It was very frustrating knowing that I felt the need to write but simply could not.
A year ago, I got the itch, again, to write. And I love the idea of sharing stories with others. When you blog you can make a person laugh, feel compassion for someone, make someone smile on a bad day, reflect inwardly about what’s being said. It’s a great way to reach out to people.

Over the last year I have spent a lot of time in self reflection. I’ve been looking inward at all the good, the bad, the funny, the sad, and the general mess going on in my mind and it’s really been a great catalyst for writing. It’s allowed me to share some very God-inspired blogs that have definitely helped me and I hope they have helped others. Since January, my life took a turn for the better, both professionally, personally and spiritually. It’s been great to share even a small part of that with y’all (that’s Texan for you all…LOL). The other day I got to share a great memory of my grandfather as part of a blog carnival I was participating in. The topic was laughter and immediately I thought of “Dad”. Sometimes, it’s just a quick word like this and other times it’s a long, lengthy post that God lays on my heart.

I hope that you are enjoying this blog (don’t hesitate to post a comment…either way). I am so glad to have been able to be on here for the last year and am looking forward to more years to come!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “One Year!

  1. Anne Lang Bundy

    August 19, 2010 at 6:31 am

    Congratulations on the milestone, April. I pray the Lord will direct you and bless you through your blog.BTW, that IS one handsome little man you have—in all three photos on the right. : )

     
  2. April

    August 20, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Thanks Anne!

     

Leave a Reply

 
