RSS

Let the Children Come to Me

18 Aug

Then he said, “I tell you the truth, unless you turn from your sins and become like children, you will never get into the Kingdom of Heaven
~Matthew 18:3 (NLT)

But Jesus said, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to those who are like these children.”
~Matthew 19:14 (NLT)

Jesus mentions, multiple times in Scripture, that unless we come to him like children, we will not enter into the Kingdom of Heaven. Now, this does not mean that we cannot go to Heaven unless we are children…quite the contrary. Children have a real zest for life. Children see life as an adventure and life is simpler.
In the Old Testament days, getting to Heaven was hard. You had to make sacrifices (which were very gruesome) and make confessions to the high priest at the tabernacle (who was the only one allowed to enter the Holy of Holies and intercede for you. It was not easy to get into Heaven.
When Jesus came to earth, he came to make it easy. He came to give us a once and for all way to get into Heaven. It’s simple…admit you are a sinner (you’ve done wrong), acknowledge that Jesus Christ died a gruesome death on the cross and was raised from the dead and is now living in Heaven just for you, and ask and accept him into your heart. It’s so easy…a child can do it! This is what Jesus meant when he said, “For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to those who are like children.”

Just a little over a week ago, I was a happy and blessed mother to see my son get saved! It was also humbling to see how easy it was for him to accept that these things were true, to understand that it was simple and to want it so badly! You know, we as adults make it so hard on ourselves, don’t we? We try to “get clean” before we come to God. We try to make the process harder than it is. All God wants from us is just to accept…He will do the rest. He will make us clean, He will change our hearts and our actions in His time. 
So, I want to challenge you all to come to God (even if you are already a Christian) as little children and I promise you, you will be blessed!

For more great posts on Children,
please see the Blog Carnival at One Word Button
 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Let the Children Come to Me

  1. Anonymous

    August 24, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    I love reading your postings. Congratulations to Stephen. I know you are a proud Mom. Your statement about trying to "get clean" is sooo true. I was out of church for several years and everytime Mom would ask me why…my answer would always be "well I am going to go back to church, as soon as ____ is over". And everytime she asked, I would fill in the blank with a new roadblock. Before I knew it, I had been out of church for several years. It takes God's loving hand to slap you sometimes to make you realize that he wants to help you through the situation…he doesn't want you AFTER you think you have handled the situation.

     
  2. April

    August 24, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Anonymous, I went through a short phase of that. Thankfully it wasn't long lived. However, even when we are in church, we find reasons to not go to God and let him fix them. Recently I was asked about trusting God. I realized that it wasn't that I didn't know He would take care of things for me, but that I didn't want to let go. I think that's where things lie for most of us. Thank you so much for sharing!! 🙂

     
  3. JC Dude

    August 24, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Love it when our children catch our faith and start to make it their own.

     
  4. Bridget Chumbley

    August 26, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Hooray for your son… and for the proud mommy. Great post… thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
