RSS

Back to School (Blog Carnival)

23 Aug

I remember some of my first days of school. I vaguely remember the first day of kindergarten (though I think that is more due to what I have been told and the pictures I have than anything else). I wore a teal and white polka dot dress with white socks and white Mary Jane shoes. I had my school supplies in hand and I was ready to go! Wow, what a long time ago that was!
I remember the first day of fifth grade, at a new school in a new town. I remember being so nervous because not only was I in a new school, but I was in middle school. I remember a lot about fifth and sixth grade at that school and have made some life long friends. In fact, one of my very best friends will tell you that when she first met me, she thought I was stuck up (because I was so shy), but once she got to know me, we were best friends fast. To this day, whenever we do get to see each other (which is few and far between), it’s like we never left.
I remember my first day of high school and the friends and even some enemies I had there. I remember that there was this girl who used to pull my hair for whatever reason and I couldn’t stand her.
I remember that in tenth grade I home schooled and in eleventh grade I had the opportunity to go to a school in Florida as a boarding student. That was a really interesting year. I wouldn’t trade it for the world because God showed me a lot there and I made some good friends, but I would never send a child to that school because it took conservatism to a too high degree.
Finally, I remember my senior year…knowing I was almost done! I remember being ready to finish school and wanting to head to college. I made friends, spent a lot of time with my youth group, and was able to even attend a few dances, though I only really danced at my prom.
All these memories hold a special place in my heart. I will never forget some of the people (even if I forget their names), I will never forget my experiences, and i will never forget the things God taught me. So, as I get ready for Stephen to start fourth grade next week, I am reminded of all these memories and I hope and pray that he can come away with some great ones as well!

This starts this months blog on Back to School! Final entries are due by September 30th. I would love to hear from you.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Back to School (Blog Carnival)

  1. Sandra Heska King

    August 25, 2010 at 12:00 am

    I don't remember any first days. They were so long ago. But I do remember kindergarten in the town hall and Miss Justice, our teacher, and forgetting my lunch one day and just wanting to bawl.

     

Leave a Reply

 
