RSS

To Sit at Jesus’ Feet

03 Sep

This morning I read this Scripture on a daily devotion type email I receive.

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “You are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better and it will not be taken from her.”
~Luke 10:41-42 (NIV)

There are so many ways I could go with this Scripture this morning. They are all floating around in my head waiting on me to snatch one up and begin typing. It’s amazing how they are all just swirling there. Maybe I can squeeze a few posts out of this one! LOL

Ok, so here’s where I am going this morning:

Let’s lay some background.

Luke 10:38-40, “As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. 40But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!””

Martha did what most of us wives and mothers do, she began to put things together to feed her guest and entertain them. Isn’t that what we all do? Company comes over and we rush around making sure there is enough food, enough to drink, plenty of ice, and that we hid those socks sticking out from under the bed over there. Oh, and don’t forget that bill that is sitting right on the counter where everyone can see it…Quick, throw it in the junk drawer!

Now, while Martha was running around like a chicken with her head cut off, Mary is sitting quietly at the feet of Jesus, listening to the things he had to say. Well, I don’t have to tell you how ticked off this made Martha! I mean don’t you hate it when you are running around like crazy and your spouse is in the living room with everyone else watching the football game and asking for another coke? Yeah? Well, so was Martha. She was thinking, “why do I have to do all of this to get ready for dinner with the Lord, when Mary is just sitting there?”

So, after a while, Martha does what most of us do...she goes to Jesus and tattles. “Why does Mary just get to sit there? Tell her to get up and help me out! I mean seriously, it just doesn’t make sense why I have to work my butt off to get all of this ready for you and she gets to sit there and relax! C’mon!” Can’t you just hear it? Can’t you just hear yourself? Even when we don’t say it out loud, we think it don’t we? I know I do from time to time.

But Jesus does what only Jesus does and calmly reminds Martha that there is only one thing that needs to be done and Mary has already figured it out. She needed to sit at Jesus’ feet.

Well, can you just imagine what Martha felt at that moment? I can…the first thought would be, seriously? Than who will feed you? Who will fill your glass? Then I would shoot over to immediate guilt and embarrassment for not having figured it out and for being called on by the Lord. Ouch!

There is a story that I heard once that I have since told to my son:

Every morning when you wake up, Jesus is sitting at the end of your bed waiting to talk to you. You wake up and start moving and say, “I’ll talk to you in just a bit, Lord.” Then your day gets started and you get busy at work or school or wherever and you forget to pray. You get through with your evening routine and head to bed and Jesus is still sitting there waiting. You say, “I’ll talk to you in the morning, Lord. I am so tired and it’s been such a long day…Tomorrow OK?” The next morning, you wake up and Jesus is still sitting there, but you wake up late and now you really don’t have time to talk. You keep putting it off for days and days and days. All the while, Jesus is still sitting there, waiting for you to talk to Him.

It’s a poignant story, isn’t it? Now, of course we know that Jesus is with us all day, no matter what we do, but this story just really makes me think. We get so wrapped up in the daily tasks of life that we put off the one person that we need to talk to the most. We talk to our children, we talk to our spouse, we talk to our co-workers and our best friend, but we “forget” to talk to Jesus. It’s really sad if you think about it.

I encourage you (and myself) today to take a few minutes and find a quiet place to sit and pray. In the mornings when you wake up, say a prayer (even if you are running late, you can take two minutes to pray). During your day when you are at work or at school or running errands or chasing toddlers around, take a few minutes to pray. When you get home in the evenings, pray with your family. When you lay down at night, pray. Do you get the picture? We need to make prayer an active part of our lives. It should be the first thing we do in the morning and the last thing we do at night. 

 
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
