RSS

Changes Ahead

07 Sep
You know, I’ve written on change before (see Change (Aug. 2010) ). Change is hard. We don’t like it. We don’t want to do it all the time. But change change can be very good.

For several months now I have been dealing with some things not going quite the way I had planned in one area of my life. I would try to start something and for several weeks, it would keep falling apart and would never come together. I began to think about what that meant and with a lot of reflection and prayer, I realized that meant that God did not want me to do that. He had closed a door. And to be honest, I didn’t pray too hard about that thing I wanted to do before I tried to make it happen, so it really was a blessing that God said no, because at that time, I would have been ill-equipped to do it. Then some other doors began closing and things in that area of my life didn’t quite feel right. I felt like something was off. I couldn’t put my finger on it or tell you exactly what it is that made me realize it was time for a change, but I just knew it was. Then, an opportunity came knocking on my door. One had not asked for and certainly did not expect. I began to think and pray about this opportunity. Finally this week, I made a decision. But even in that decision, I felt nervous. Nervous about having to get out of the old situation and nervous about going into this new situation (because change is hard). Then I received a phone call from someone who did not know that I had made this decision yet. He asked me to do something soon. Immediately I knew that I needed to (and to be honest, I wanted to). To quote my mother, “God? -sorry, God?”. Yes, mom, I do believe it was God. he was giving me a final confirmation on what I needed to do.
So, another state of change. Just like every other change lately, it’s a little nerve wracking, but it’s going to be good because it came from God!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
