RSS

Hope

07 Sep

HOPE…

There are so many things I think of when I hear or see the word hope. In getting ready for this post for the blog carnival at Bidget Chumbley’s Site, I started doing a search on the internet for the word hope and came up with several things that really touched me.

Hope is a thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune–without the words,
And never stops at all
And sweetest in the gale is heard,
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm
I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet never in extremities,
It asked a crumb of me
~Emily Dickinson

 I have always loved that poem by Emily Dickinson. She captured the essence of hope so well. She describes hope as a bird that sings a tune and never stops. I love that picture! Hope sings and sings and sings even in our darkest times and never asks for anything in return (“yet never, in extremities, it asked a crumb of me”).

Miriam Webster’s Dictionary says that hope is “to cherish a desire with anticipation; to expect with confidence”. When we hope, we have a piece of us that expects with confidence that this thing we hope for will happen. Maybe we are hoping to come out of a certain situation soon and be back on top…maybe we are hoping for our children to come to know God…maybe we are hoping for that new job to come through or for some extra money to come in this month…whatever our hope, we do it with confidence and anticipation.

A Scottish Proverb states, “Were it not for hope, the heart would break.” Oh how true those words are. When we lose hope, we despair deeply. We feel that life is no longer worth living. Some can lose hope so badly and for so long that they chose an end to their lives. Others lose it for a season and then realize that hope was always there, they just lost site of it. Without hope, we feel lost and abandoned. We cry, we grieve, we feel that all is lost.

But all is not lost! We do have hope! Jeremiah 29:11 states, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”
God has plans for us! He wants us to hope! He has great things for our lives and with Him, there is always hope!!

I will leave you with this video and I hope that something I have said today will touch your soul.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Hope

  1. Glynn

    September 7, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    That confidence connection – I think we often miss that. Our hope can be confident because of the source of the hope. Good post.

     
  2. April

    September 9, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    That's exactly what I was saying, Glynn. I think we all too often forget that God has given us authority over Satan if we are saved. That means we CAN be confident! Thanks for sharing!

     
  3. Bridget Chumbley

    September 11, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    I love that poem by Emily. Thanks for this post, April.

     

Leave a Reply

 
