RSS

Kickboxing Kicked My Booty!

21 Sep
boxing gloves

Image by Julia Manzerova via Flickr

I have known for a while now that I have needed to lose weight…for both health reasons and so that I can have more energy and feel better.  So, I joined the gym and took one Kickboxing class that was a little easier than they normally would be simply because the usual teacher was not there. So one of the students stepped up and led the class. Two days later I was going to take the class again, but with people coming to my house that weekend and a paper due, I had to go home and work. While cleaning, I rounded a corner too fast and broke my little toe.  Well, that put me out of commission for 6 weeks.

So, last night was my first night to go back to the gym in 6 weeks. I was going to take a spin class, but I misread the calendar and so I opted for the Kickboxing class. Well, let me just say, it’s been  a looooooong time since I’ve worked out!!

Let the hilarity ensue…

To start off, I had a brand new pair of sweat pants (literally just purchased at Target yesterday because I had forgotten my workout pants). I tied the drawstring up to what I thought was tight enough to keep them high enough to not show off the belly fat. Well, of course, during class, while I have my hands stuck in big, bulky, boxing gloves, my pants slip a little lower than I would like. Mind you, they aren’t falling off or anything, but I am very self-conscious of my body. I figure I should be the only one who has to see all that fat. So, I am trying to keep my pants up and my shirt down all the while wearing boxing gloves and kicking and punching!

To top all of this off…the instructor starts the class off with punches and jumping jacks. 3 punches, 3 jacks, 6 punches, 6 jacks, 9 punches, 9 jacks, 15 punches, 15 jacks and finally 30 punches, 30 jacks. This is part of the cardio of Kickboxing. Well, like I said, it’s been years since I have worked out, so I am dying!! I am in the back of the room trying to follow along but quickly losing my breath and having to stop and breathe every few minutes. Everyone else in the class is doing fairly well because they have been doing this class for a while and they are all smaller than me. At one point, I stop for several minutes and the instructor comes over to me while everyone else is continues to work out and asks if I am ok. Well, I am trying really hard not to complain, to keep up and not to look like I’m struggling, so I tell her I’m fine, just need to catch my breath. She proceeds to tell me to take a deep breath and hold it. HOLD IT?, I think, How am I supposed to hold it when my lungs are burning?? But, I proceed to do what she says and after a minute, I am good to go and I get back in the swing of things. We keep doing more punching, kicking and running around, all the while I am struggling to breathe, trying to follow her instructions and working to keep my pants up while wearing boxing gloves! It had to a have been a hilarious site to see!

Finally the end of the class time comes and we start working on our abs before we cool off. HAHAHAHA, what abs??? By this point, I am already feeling like an old lady, but now I have to keep my legs off the floor and put the 6lb. medicine ball between my feet and back above my head? OMG!!!! I am dying here!

So, with all the boot camp participants waiting in the hall (there is a glass door looking into the classroom) (and don’t forget I am in the back of the classroom) I begin trying really hard to do these ab exercises. Yeah….no. I am able to do about half the reps in each exercise as the rest of the class and the whole time I am straining and utterly embarrassed that all these people are in the hall watching this!

Whew! Class if FINALLY over!! I walk confidently (all the while my body is screaming!) into the locker room to get my stuff and go get Stephen out of the daycare room. As soon as I get in the car, I am laughing at myself! I am SOOOO out of shape! My legs are now killing me, my arms hurt…I’m just sore all over. And of course, now I need to eat dinner before it’s too late in the evening and they say you should eat within the hour of working out so you metabolize it better. So, I grab a chicken sandwich at DQ and head home.

Stopping off at my mother’s house, I am telling her all of this and as I sit down, I realize that my brand new pants have a hole in them! Thankfully it wasn’t big, but I did not have on black underwear, so I am only praying that I did not embarrass myself any further during class!!

As I said….

Kickboxing kicked my booty!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
