RSS

Jesus to the World

23 Sep

We have, in fact, two kinds of morality side by side: one which we preach but do not practice, and another which we practice but seldom preach.
~Bertrand Russell

I ran across this quote yesterday and found it extremely interesting and full of truth. My grandfather used to have a saying that he quoted to my dad often…”Do as I say, not as I do.” How often have we heard this? We are very quick to tell others what they need to do, what the Bible says, what God would want, but we often do not follow our own advice.

This is one of the biggest reasons that people are so disenchanted with the church. They watch us acting the total opposite of what we say…all the time…and they think, “why do I want to go to church? Why would I want to be like these people? They are no different from me.” I have heard this said so many times over the years, even by family members who are not in church, that it’s no wonder there is so much crazy in this world. I mean, hey, “why bother with church and God when those “Christians” are acting the same way I am!”

It’s a sad commentary on our faith and more so on the church today, isn’t it?

And we teach this to our children and later lament that they are not following God either. I for one want my child and the people around me to see God in a different light. I want to show them who He is by the way that I live. I want them to see that He is wonderful and gracious and merciful and loving. They need to see that He is just and righteous and mighty and bigger than anything we can wrap our heads around. They need to see that when I fail, I am repentant and God forgives. They need to see the love of God through my actions, not just my words. They need to see that I practice what I preach. I need to be Jesus with skin.

It would be wonderful if we could be Jesus to the world and be perceived the way this song says…

Are you Jesus to the world around you???

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
