RSS

Get to the Root

08 Oct

You know, it amazes me sometimes how a blog idea pops into my head. When times like that happen I know it’s from God.

Yesterday I stayed home, sick. I tried to make it to work this morning but by the time I reached the house to drop Stephen off at, I knew there was no way I would make it. So I drove home and slept for five hours. I left the house at 2pm and drove toward the school to pick Stephen up and saw this house on a side road that I have admired for years. (I normally do not drive down this road, which is how I know this is from God.) The owners have been working to fix it up, but when I drove by, I noticed something that they hadn’t fixed and I said to myself, “If you don’t shore up the foundation, all that work will be for nothing.”

I’ve been reading this book about a man whose uncle gives him a house. The house begins revealing things to him and he discovers that it is God revealing things he needs to deal with. One line from the book says, “We try to forgive those who wound us, but this only deals with the symptoms. The wound remains like a field of dandelions with their tips cut off. No, we must always go after the root of the tree and remove it completely so there is no opportunity for the stronghold to return.”

That house made me think of that quote from the book. If we don’t get to the root of the problem (the foundation, in the case of the house), then we cannot completely heal. Oh, sure, we can forgive the person and try to move on, but we cannot truly heal until we root up all the emotions and lies that came from that problem.

Over the years, I have dealt with many different scenarios in which I had to forgive and move on. The forgiving part, though not easy and took many years, was easier I think (in the long run) than rooting up the rest of it. I am typically the type of person to push my feelings aside and keep moving on, never dealing with those emotions, never dealing with the negative thoughts, fears, lies, etc. I just tamp them down deep so I can keep going. It’s my survival mode. When something bad happens, I just need to survive it. And I think the just surviving thing is OK at first (of course, I could be wrong). I think the problem comes in when we don’t move past survival mode.

Let’s say you lose a loved one. The first thing that you do is cry, then you realize that you have to get things done for the funeral and memorials, etc., so you put yourself in survival mode. You tamp down as much of the emotion as you can just to get the things done that you need to. Then, when it’s time for the funeral, all the planning is done and you should move on to the rest of the grieving process. It’s the natural order of grief.

But the problem that a lot of us face, myself included, is that we tend to stay in that mode. We don’t move past it. Then, after a while, survival becomes the normal and every time something happens, we tamp it down on top of what is already in there. The biggest problem here is that after years and years of tamping things down on top of the last mess, is that eventually there is no room left to put something. Then, we overflow. We explode at our families or we become extremely depressed or we cry over anything and everything and don’t’ seem to know why. We feel like we have lost all control and the thing is, we really have lost control. We lost it because we had so much in our secret place that we could no longer hold anymore and it all came flowing out.

What we need to do is root that stuff out! We need to dig down deep and pull those things up by their roots and get rid of them once and for all. You see our roots don’t need to be dug into this mess; the pain, the depression, the heartache, the fear, etc. Our roots need to be planted by streams of living water…

Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.
~Collosians 2:7

I love that Scripture! And I think I will leave you with that!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
