RSS

Temperament Add-On

25 Oct

In discussing temperaments with my mother this weekend, i wanted to make a note for everyone who is taking, has taken, or will take a temperament test at one point or another. Though figuring out what your temperament is is liberating and can help you better understand how to manage it in strengths and weaknesses, NEVER should you use this as an excuse. My fear is that those who take the test and find out what temperament they are will say, “Well, that’s just the way God made me.” and not attempt to work at their lives. God didn’t make me a melancholy to keep me down all the time. He made me a melancholy because he wanted me to be creative, he wanted me to have empathy for people and so on. The down/dark times in my temperament were created to keep me leaning on God. He never desired that I use it as an excuse to say, “well, you just have to deal with it because this is how God made me and I won’t change.” Yes, I will always be a melancholy temperament, but I will not always work out of my weaknesses. I will work toward living in my strengths and I encourage you all to do the same.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Temperament Add-On

  1. Matt @ The Church of No People

    October 25, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Hey April, thanks for commenting on my blog! Sorry you didn’t win Billy Coffey’s book, but I know you’ll enjoy it when you get your hands on it. Hope to see you around and about again soon. Happy blogging!

     
  2. floyd

    October 25, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    So much for my new excuses! I’ve heard it said, “The brightest days are right after the darkest ones.” That certainly has been true in my life and I’m looking for the next bright one. God willing and the creek don’t rise!

     

Leave a Reply

 
