RSS

Redemption

02 Nov

Ok, Merriam Webster Dictionary, by far, has the best definitions of all time! It always amazes me when I look up the definition of a word and find that it lists not only every day definitions, but spiritual definitions. So when I looked up redemption, I hoped it would be chock full of stuff and I wasn’t disappointed!

Redemption:

The act, process or an instance of redeeming

So you say, OK, then what is redeeming? What does it mean to redeem?

Redeem:

to buy back
to get or win back
to free from what distresses or harms
to free from captivity by payment of ransom
to extricate from or help to overcome something detrimental
to release from blame or debt
to free from the consequences of sin
repair, restore

Wow, already I am amazed. Too many choices on what to say… To buy back – Jesus bought us with his blood! To free from distresses or harms – Jesus wants to do this daily! To release us from blame or debt….oooh, this is the one I am speaking of today.

Every day, we sin. Sometimes we sin minute by minute…I know I do. And, when we sin, we have a debt to pay. If we are saved, Jesus will pay that debt for us, but we have to ask for his forgiveness. Once we have asked his forgiveness, we sometimes find there is another problem...ourselves. We may be forgiven and redeemed by the blood of Christ…

Being justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.
~Romans 3:24

but we also blame ourselves and therefore condemn ourselves. Sometimes we live in that for many years. It eats at us and tears us down bit by bit, day by day. We live with it until it becomes second nature to feel guilt, blame, condemnation. I know that I do…

For many, many years, I have lived in a cloud of blame and condemnation. I’ve believed that because of all the mistakes I have made, I am not good enough to be redeemed, not worth anyone’s time. I know that Jesus loves me and that once I have asked for forgiveness for each sin, He forgives me and, PRAISE GOD, throws it as far as the east is from the west! But I’ve continued to condemn myself. (I spoke about condemnation a few weeks ago.)

I have to say, that if not for Christ’s redemption, I wouldn’t be here and I wouldn’t, finally, be in a place of allowing myself to feel redeemed.

Psalm 103:4
He redeems me from death and crowns me with love and tender mercies.

Christ loves me so much, He redeems me! He wants me to live in love and his tender mercies, not pain and regret and fear and condemnation. He wants me to be free! So, I am working my way to allowing Christ’s redemption to flood my heart and my mind and to take these things from me…Are you willing to do the same?

This has been part of the blog carnival at One Word at a Time. To read more entries, please visit One Word at a Time: Reconciliation.
 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2010 in Faith, Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Redemption

  1. Glynn

    November 2, 2010 at 8:34 am

    We keep thinking that there has to be something more we should be doing to be redeemed — something to make us worthy. In truth, there’s nothing we can do. It’s already been done for us.

    Good post.

     
  2. floyd

    November 2, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Nice, well taught from the heart and a strong reminder of His truth.
    Floyd

     
  3. Doug Spurling

    November 2, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Know exactly how you feel. One of the things that helps me take Paul’s lead “forgetting those things which are behind I press toward the mark…” is Galations 2:20 “I am crucified with Christ nevertheless I live, yet not I but Christ lives in me…” And I tell myself when old memories come haunting – yeah but that’s not me – that guys dead.

    Oh and you can just remember your namesake…blessedbeyondmeasure.

     
    • apesydaisy

      November 2, 2010 at 5:48 pm

      Such good Scriptures! And yes, I am always trying to remember that I am blessed beyond measure. Thanks from reading!

       
  4. Melissa Campbell

    November 4, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Why do we spend so much energy trying to get free when we already are? Wonderful post!

     
    • apesydaisy

      November 5, 2010 at 7:41 am

      Melissa, I cannot tell you how much energy I have spent over the years trying to free myself from something I did when I’ve already been free for years! Thanks for reading!

       
  5. Anne Lang Bundy

    November 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    “To release from blame …”

    That works for me!

     
    • apesydaisy

      November 5, 2010 at 7:42 am

      Anne, I often use the dictionary to help me further understand what I am studying and find that, more often than not, either the definition makes me think of Scripture and God or it directly refers to God. I love that! Thanks for continuing to read!

       
  6. Hazel I. Moon

    November 5, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Isn’t is great that we can never earn our redemption and reconciliation with God? Jesus paid it all and all to Him I owe.

     
  7. Bridget

    November 6, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Amen is right! Great post.

     
    • apesydaisy

      November 8, 2010 at 8:10 am

      Thanks Bridget! And thanks for continuing the blog carnival. I really enjoy it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
