RSS

Book Review: Out Live Your Life by Max Lucado

29 Nov

These are difficult days in our world’s history. 1.75 billion people are desperately poor, natural disasters are gouging entire nations, and economic uncertainty still reigns across the globe. But you and I have been given an opportunity to make a big difference. What if we did? What if we rocked the world with hope? Infiltrated all corners with God’s love and life? We are created by a great God to do great works. He invites us to outlive our lives, not just in heaven, but here on earth. Let’s live our lives in such a way that the world will be glad we did. (from the Thomas Nelson Website)

You may sit there and think, but I’m just an ordinary person, how can I do anything special to make a real difference in this world?

Out Live Your Life shows people the small things that they can do to create a big difference in this world and thereby outlive their lives (be remembered). From chapters titled “Open Your Door; Open Your Heart” to “Do Good Quietly” and “Calling Mr. Pot Roast”, Max Lucado discusses ways that you can Out Live Your Life.

To be honest, when I first received this book, I assumed that it would be about sponsoring children or helping build wells in third world countries. Those things are all well and good, but I don’t have the money to do that and when I read articles about that, I am usually left feeling guilty that I can’t and wishing that I could.

What I quickly found out was that this book is so much more than sponsoring, this book is about ways, big and small, that you can outlive your life; make a difference in this world and be remembered by someone. One of the first things that Max Lucado says is “No one else has your version.” He is talking about the life you are living now. No one else in this world was given your version of this life. You are the only one who can live it.

You may be thinking, “So what? I may be the only one to live this version, but I’m a nobody in the grand scheme of things. I am not equipped to make a difference. I am just a mother; farmer; teacher; blue-collar worker.” To this Max has a great answer, one that I have always believed in…

God doesn’t qualify the equipped. He qualifies the called.

God doesn’t care who you are…the simple farmer; the kid on the street who doesn’t know how to read; the mother who is up to her eyeballs in kids and laundry and meals…God just cares that He called you and that you are willing to hear His call!

This book is full of good things like that! It talks about pride, willingness, teamwork, encouragement. And at the end of each chapter is a Scripture and a prayer. One of my favorite prayers in the book is

O Lord, where did I see you yesterday…and didn’t recognize you? Where will I encounter you today…and fail to identify you? O my Father, give me eyes to see, a heart to respond, and hands and feet to serve you wherever you encounter me! Transform me, Lord, by your Spirit into a servant of Christ, who delights to meet the needs of those around me. Make me a billboard of your grace, a living advertisement for the riches of your compassion. I long to hear you say to me one day, “Well done, good and faithful servant.” And I pray that today I would be that faithful servant who does well at doing good. In Jesus’ name I pray, amen.

That is how the book ends. But Max Lucado doesn’t leave you there. A discussion and Action Guide is included at the end of the book. This section of the book gives you things to think about and some ideas for action on your part for each chapter.

I really enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to anyone I know!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2010 in Reviews, Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Book Review: Out Live Your Life by Max Lucado

  1. Jason

    November 29, 2010 at 9:35 am

    I loved this book as well. It’s one of Max’s best, in my opinion.

     
    • apesydaisy

      November 29, 2010 at 10:49 am

      I was actually very impressed by the book. It turned out to be better than I expected.

       
  2. floyd

    November 29, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    I guess I’m gonna have to go out and get a copy. Thanks for the heads up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
