RSS

Christmas Lights

09 Dec

When I was a little girl, I remember driving around at Christmas time and looking at all the houses decorated in lights. We would make an evening of it and drive around for hours (or at least it felt that way to me). We never decorated our house that I can remember (my mom may correct me here), and thankfully we never lived on a street that required all the houses decorate like in the movie Christmas with the Kranks; but we loved to drive around for hours and look at the lights.

Since I have had a child of my own, I have tried to carry on that tradition, but it’s not gone as well as planned. Now, I see that my parents may have struggled with getting in the car, driving around for at least and hour with no destination in mind and checking out lights. We live in a small town and there aren’t many streets that decorate so finding more than one house to look at is difficult. I have also noticed that some of the streets in the town over are not decorating as much as they used to. But there is one house that we stop at as often as we can and it’s on our way home. A friend of ours lives on the highway and her husband loves to set up those lights that coordinate with the music on a specific radio station. Stephen and I love to stop at that house and he gets a kick out of it when they play songs like Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree and such!

We love lights, but due to our schedule and some things coming up in the next two weeks, we are keeping our tree simple. But even simple is very pretty. I have these really pretty lights that have brightly colored, fuzzy covers on them. That mixed with the white lights on the pre-lit tree and the wreath and stockings and we have a nice Christmas going on in our house.

So what about you? Do you go all out for Christmas and decorate the house too? Do you just love to drive around or do you find it difficult as well?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “Christmas Lights

  1. floyd

    December 9, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    There was a few years when my kids were much younger that I blew off putting up any decorations outside. I can’t tell you how much I regret that now. The kids are only young once, I was immature more often than that. Now my little one is twelve and I won’t miss another one. Early in the morning when I get up for work I look out and see the lights and how they light up the darkness in front. I’ve really come to appreciate the little things in life like Christmas lights, wish it wouldn’t have taken me so long.
    Enjoy the time you have with Junior. We can never get this year back, God only gives us one shot to make an impact for him at Christmas.

     
    • apesydaisy

      December 9, 2010 at 1:08 pm

      I’m not really one to do outside lights anyway because it’s so difficult and time consuming, but we usually do a ton of ornaments and decorate all over. This year, we kept our decorations simple and Stephen has a tree in his room and for the first time since he was born, I have a stocking because he made me some things. We are also working to try to keep our focus mostly on Christ this year, so the simplicity out of scheduling necessity will hopefully be condusive to that as well.
      I am glad that you are getting some of those memories with your 12 year old! Memories are so important

       
  2. Mom

    December 9, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    You’re right, April, we never did decorate outside. Those early years were very lean and it was all we could do to decorate inside and provide Christmas gifts for all of you. I, too, regret it sometimes, Floyd. Christmas, as well as every other holiday, is a time to develop traditions that may be enjoyed by future generations. Going to the trouble of loading up the car and driving around aimlessly to look at Christmas lights doesn’t cost a thing, but the memory of living it can last a lifetime! I am blessed to know that what seemed like a little thing to us meant so very much to you, April. I love you.

     
    • apesydaisy

      December 9, 2010 at 2:48 pm

      It meant a lot. I wish more people were decorating like they did when we were kids. It seems that every year they decorate less and less.

       
  3. Joanne Norton

    December 9, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    I love to take a night or two to drive around enjoying the lights. Omaha has quite a number of them; the hard part is trying to keep the parts of town in my head year to year. The fun part this year: taking some of the Bhutanese refugees up the street and putting them in a van I’ll borrow and let them see something they’ve never seen before. Colorful lights just fill me with joy. We’d do more in our yard, but the put-up, take-down becomes too frustrating with the weather issues.

    Hope you have a wonderful lighted-up experience.

     
    • apesydaisy

      December 10, 2010 at 7:11 am

      Enjoy your Christmas lights as well!

       
  4. Jason

    December 10, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Well, you might call me Scroogy, but I’m not much for decorating for Christmas. If someone does the “sync with music” thing I may check it out but I’m not much for the big displays of lights and things. A tree’s OK but that’s about the limit for me. Amy, of course, is Ms. Decorate The Crap Out Of The Apartment.

     
    • apesydaisy

      December 10, 2010 at 10:09 am

      🙂 That’s what happens to Scrooges, they marry the major decorators! LOL

       

Leave a Reply

 
