RSS

Tradition (Guest post by Floyd)

22 Dec
Today, I am blessed to have my friend, Floyd writing a guest post. He has been such an encouragement in my life and I’ve never met him face to face. Floyd has a way of getting at the heart of things. This post is no different. I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did and that you have blessed Christmas!
You can read more from Floyd at Finding Floyd. Thank you, Floyd!
Last week April shared a picture of her dad reading the Bible at Christmas to her brother and son. Their tradition got me thinking about some of my own similar traditions.
One of our Christmas traditions is Italian food. Itʼs a little different year to year, but the origin is the same. Lasagna, stuffed shells, spiedinis, and spaghetti to name a few.
We go to church on Christmas Eve, come home, eat dinner, then the kids open one small present. The remaining presents get opened Christmas morning. Before that we eat a small breakfast, I start on my first cup of coffee, we gather around the Christmas tree and I pray. Itʼs our tradition.
That tradition started when I was a child. There was no presents open at our house until my dad prayed, gave thanks to God, and read Luke chapter 2 through verse 20. Being very young, I remember thinking, “Iʼm never gonna get to open my presents, heʼs gonna read the whole Bible”!
I didnʼt think too much of the process at the time, I just figured it was what we did. After a few years I began to think about it as just our tradition.
The process of a tradition has a life unto itself. It starts with learning of the tradition. The next phase in the process is endurance. Somewhere during the journey through the long endurance process we begin to find gratification and passion. Our priority pendulum begins to swing to the opposite side from our starting point.
What was liver and onions before ice cream as a child, becomes our favorite entree followed by a good cup of coffee as an adult. The priority of presents gives way to the priority of God and honoring Him first.
My dad read the Bible at Christmas for his family for over fifty years. Thatʼs a pretty long tradition. There was a few years as kids we werenʼt paying too much attention. After all this wasnʼt church…This was present opening time!
I didnʼt get the correlation between the two. I had no comprehension of the omnipotence of God. I have a little more understanding of it now. Which means the more I grasp the awesome power of the Creator and Sustainer of this world and life, I have no comprehension of the omnipotence of God.
Several times my dad would have to stop reading to reprimand my brothers, sister, and me. We were all a bit on the A.D.D. side. Couple that with Christmas excitement and, “Walla” you have a parentʼs nightmare.
Weʼd be forced to move our sitting locations so as not to poke, push, or harass each other. My dad would finish reading Godʼs word and sit back to watch his children enjoy the fruits of his efforts. He usually got one present from my mom, literally a pair of sox or something comparable.
There were some tough financial years for many people along the way, my family was one of them. We always received something. I canʼt say the same for my mom and dad. My dad wonʼt be reading Godʼs word Christmas morning this year, at least not on this physical earth. Heʼs been taken home to perfect peace, joy, and rest in the presence of our Father.
The tradition started by my mom and dad will live on, even beyond my lifetime. Iʼll pray, read, and sit back and watch my children enjoy the fruits of my efforts provided from the hand of our Father.
Thereʼs been some bickering and arguing along the way, but thatʼs what makes it real. My kids will remember their process from endurance to gratification and passion. Iʼve already watched a good portion of that process. May God grant me enough years to see the entire process in them.
I thank God for the tradition He born in my dad. Iʼll forever remember and cherish how my dad prayed. He would lean forward, bow his head resting his elbows on his thighs as he clasped his hands in front of him, resting them on his knees.
My dad squeezed his eyes, furrowed his brow in ernest, then he would start, “Letʼs pray,”– “Heavenly Father”…..
 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Tradition (Guest post by Floyd)

  1. akismet-4864a837b213087b2610551aca70997a

    December 22, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    April thank you so much for the kind words. Interesting that your words were similar to mine regarding you. I’m praying for a speedy recovery for you and of course a very Merry Christmas for the whole family.
    God Bless

     
    • apesydaisy

      December 22, 2010 at 7:31 pm

      Thanks Floyd. Your blog is excellent and your words of encouragement are always a blessing.

       
  2. Mom

    December 22, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    I shared the essence of your post with my husband tonight over dinner; this prompted a conversation regarding our own family holiday traditions. As we reminisced, we came to realize that somehow the traditions we cherished so much from our own childhoods did not carry over into our own family. This causes me to wonder what my children will remember from their childhood holiday celebrations; what will they choose to take with them? Will they remember how great the food was and how wonderful the gifts were or will they remember that their parents always tried to point them to the “reason” for every holiday celebration in our home? Did we do a good enough job of pointing them to Christ who has imparted to us the very spirit of Thanksgiving? Did they get that love is a gift, given to us by God, our Father, to be shared with all on Valentine’s Day? Did they understand the reason I insisted on calling Easter, Resurrection Sunday and why I considered it more important than Christmas; or why Halloween was not to be celebrated by those who have chosen Jesus to be the Lord of their lives? OR, will they just consider us legalistic? No doubt, they will do what they consider to be the very best for their own children – just like we did. My prayer is that no matter what they remember, or how they remember us, that they remember us as lovingly as you remember your father, Floyd. I loved the picture of “the process from endurance, to gratification, to passion”.

    It is evident that you loved your father very much and that you miss him terribly this Christmas season. My father-in-law passed away 18 years ago and only a few days have gone by without my husband mentioning how much he misses his dad. I pray that the God of Comfort will grant you an extra measure of grace this Christmas as you share the story of Christmas and pray with your family. What a legacy your parents have left you, Floyd!

     
    • akismet-4864a837b213087b2610551aca70997a

      December 23, 2010 at 12:22 am

      The legacy you will leave is already evident in your daughter. I was touched by the photograph of your husband, son, and grandson. Looking from the outside I see that as your legacy. I also understand that you, the mother, is the glue that God has used to hold it all together. I thought I was discreet in my emotions regarding my dad, a Matriarch cannot be fooled.

      My mom has similar qualities, her and my dad were one like you and your husband. Thank you for your kind words and prayers. The legacy you leave your children while you are blessed to watch is a gift from God. You and your family, because of your obedience to God have touched my family in a way only God can arrange.

      It’s been my pleasure to read your past words and an honor to share these with you now. I don’t know your name, but I am attached to you and yours for eternity. God Bless your family, and thank you for all you’ve achieved with your obedience to our Father.
      Floyd

       

Leave a Reply

 
