RSS

John 15:16

28 Dec

(a) You did not choose me. I chose you.

Among the things my mom gave me for Christmas, she gave me a book called His Princess, Love Letters from Your King by Sheri Rose Shepherd. I finally got around to opening the book tonight and before I could even read the forward, this was the Scripture on the page.

You see, for as long as I could remember, I have struggled with self-esteem, self-respect, etc. I have struggled with really knowing that I am God’s princess. I know it in my head and somewhere deep in my heart, but I don’t think I’ve ever fully realized it. So, knowing this, my mother bought me a gift that she knew would stretch me and strengthen me and help me realize my worth in God’s eyes.

Be prepared, faithful readers, because as I go through this book I will be sharing some insights with you. And if you find that you, like me, have a hard time knowing your worth in God’s eyes, I hope that you will see exactly how God feels about you too!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “John 15:16

  1. Jason

    December 28, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    It took me a long time to accept that God saw me as valuable. I can remember telling people that I had a walk-on, non-speaking part in God’s play of life.

     
    • apesydaisy

      December 28, 2010 at 9:09 pm

      I hear you Jason. There have been many times that I have felt like that.

       
  2. Floyd

    December 28, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    I can’t imagine anyone being more valuable than you. I know that the foot of the Cross is level and we’re all unique because of God’s perfect will, but your passion and heart are rare in my world. I’m reading Max Lucado’s Out Live Your Life because of your recommendation. If I stopped reading now (which I won’t) it has been a blessing. Thanks

     
    • apesydaisy

      December 28, 2010 at 9:36 pm

      Thank you Floyd. I think between life experiences and my own issues I lost who God said I was. I am slowly working my way back to that.

       
  3. Mom

    December 29, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    My prayer is that this will be a healing balm for you, my sweet girl.

     
  4. Nikole Hahn

    December 29, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Gotta follow this post! This books sounds great.

    “You see, for as long as I could remember, I have struggled with self-esteem, self-respect, etc. I have struggled with really knowing that I am God’s princess. I know it in my head and somewhere deep in my heart, but I don’t think I’ve ever fully realized it.”

    When you’re led to believe you are not smart, or laughed at over and over again, or not taken seriously, you begin to second guess yourself—what you just said…well, I struggle, too.

     
    • apesydaisy

      December 29, 2010 at 9:54 pm

      I hear you Nikole. I will continue to update you all on this book, but encourage you to pick up a copy as well. May God move in your heart the way He is working on moving in mine.

       
  5. Deborah

    January 9, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    April you have been blessed by a beautiful mother that loves you so much. And her heart still has room in it to care for little old me. Your mom has helped me so much, she has made me realize I am important to God. I can say so much more about her but I think you know her better than me. Her Christmas gift to me was His Princess Warrior. Now look at that how did your mom know exactly what to give me. The Lord is working through her. I love her. I have truly been blessed beyound words, God has brought me here to Texas, all the way from PA to be part of this wonderful family of God. I am as happy and content, something that I have not been for a long time. Love you April

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 9, 2011 at 3:37 pm

      You are right, Deborah, I am blessed to have such a wonderful mother and friend. She has been a great blessing to me as well as a great source of encouragement and strength. I hope that the book he gave you will help and encourage you as much as mine doe sme.
      Thank you for reading my blog and for the great words.

       

Leave a Reply

 
