RSS

Did you know it’s a sin?

13 Jan

Did you know it’s a sin? Worry I mean…it’s a sin. I think we all kind of know, but do we really believe that? My son and I were talking about worry yesterday. He was upset and worried about his dad, who professes that He doesn’t believe in God. My son worries that his dad will never get saved. He worries that his grandfather, who recently died, was not saved. Unfortunately, all of that is possible, and even highly likely. However, I began to remind my son that all he can do is live his life the way God wants him to and pray for his dad. There is no better way to see God move than to do those two things. Then I reminded my son that God tells us not to worry and that, in fact, worry was not part of the world until Adam and Eve sinned. I told him that worry was a sin and meant that we did not put our trust in God. That we need to give God our worries and just pray.

Talk about conviction in my life! I worry all the time! I don’t think there is a day that goes by that I don’t worry about something. I worry about the small, trivial things: what are we going to do about dinner tonight; will I lose readers because I haven’t really posted blogs in several weeks. I worry about the bigger things: bills are due, will there be enough; this class is extremely difficult, will I pass. I worry about the huge things: will my son have troubles all his life because of what happened between me and his dad; will I meet a man who will love me and my son the way we deserve because he loves God more. I worry about all these things and so much more on a daily basis. Which, in real, honest, raw, reality means that I am living in sin…daily.

OUCH! Why did you have to hit me upside the head with a 2×4 God? Well, I guess gentle nudges weren’t doing it anymore were they?

John MacArthur stated in his book Anxiety Attacked,

Jesus categorically prohibited worry in a familiar portion of the Sermon on the Mount—Matthew 6:25-34. Three times in that short passage He commanded, “Do not worry!”, and the way He said it shows the comprehensiveness of His charge. In verse 25 He acknowledges worry as a common practice and says, “Stop worrying;” in verses 31 and 34 He uses the same word, but in a way that means “Don’t even start worrying.” To continue worrying about anything, or to start worrying in the first place, is to violate the Lord’s command.

He goes on to state several things that a worrier does:

  1. The Worrier Strikes Out at God
    When we worry, we are basically telling God that we don’t think He is trust worthy; that we don’t trust Him. As humans, trust doesn’t come easy, especially for those of us who have been hurt many times before. So, it’s not hard to see why we have a hard time trusting God. The problem is…it’s a sin. We are saying that the God who created everything, intricate and beautiful, in this world; the God who made us; the God who chose to send His one and only Son to die for us; isn’t trustworthy.
  2. The Worrier Disbelieves Scripture
    True Christians believe and know that the Scripture is true from beginning to end. None of it is false. Yet, if we worry, we are saying that the Scriptures aren’t completely true. We are proving that we don’t completely believe it. (OUCH! OK GOD! I’m getting it!!)
  3. The Worrier is Mastered by Circumstances
    When we worry, we are in chains. We are not free, by any means. We are enslaved to our worry and it’s a never-ending cycle. We cannot be free until we release our worry to God. We want desperately to be free and “worry” that we never will be; and we won’t…if we don’t turn it over to God.
  4. The Worrier Distrusts God
    I ask my son all the time, “Do you trust me?” I tell him, “Please just trust me, I’ve got it all under control”. But, he’s a worrier, and he doesn’t trust me; not because he doesn’t love me or because he thinks I will ruin everything, but because he has a hard time letting go of worry. It’s the same way between us and God. We are telling God we don’t trust Him…and in reality we find it very hard to trust Him. Oh yes, we trust that He loves us, we trust that He created us, we can even trust that he is truly right next to us always, but do we really trust Him to make the everyday, mundane, as well as the huge decisions for us? I know I don’t always. I lean on God when it’s big, but I have hard time letting go and leaning on Him when it’s little.
  5. Worry is Unwise Because of Our Future
    Jesus said, “Therefore do not be anxious for tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matt. 6:34).
    Aside from this, worry also has physical properties:

    • Worry paralyzes us – we can’t think about or do anything else but worry; we are less productive
    • Worry can cause ulcers, indigestion, back problems from tension, panic attacks, heart palpitations, etc.

God tells us in Lamentations that “His mercies are new every morning”. God gives us the strength each day that we need to get through that day. He gives us extra strength to get through problems that arise. He’s there, He’s in control, He loves us enough to want to pick us up and carry us during the times we need it the most.

In going through this post, I have to say that I am amazed and ashamed at myself for my worrying. Does this mean that I will change overnight; stop worrying right this very instant? No. Realistically, I will struggle with worry for the rest of my life. But, it does mean that now that I am more aware of it, I am now responsible for it and therefore have to work for change.

Lord, help me!

 
18 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

18 responses to “Did you know it’s a sin?

  1. Michael

    January 13, 2011 at 11:28 am

    God help me too. I’m right there with you.

     
  2. Jason

    January 13, 2011 at 11:52 am

    I struggle with this a lot. Heck…I’m struggling with it today! But I know God’s sovereign and He has a plan for whatever is happening. Still, I have had a worry nature. I’m working to flip it to a trusting one.

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 13, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      i think as long as we realize what our nature tends to be and work with God to change it, we will do all right. Sorry you are struggling today, especially on your birthday.

       
  3. Danielle Greene

    January 13, 2011 at 11:54 am

    WOW! Profouding words I needed to hear today, I too am a worrier!

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 13, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      Thanks for visiting my blog Danielle! Glad I could give something to think about. I worry all the time so this was a knock over the head from God.

       
  4. Nellie

    January 13, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    you couldn’t be more right here; something i am constantly reminded of, and hard to escape to grasp of this sin…since its so tied to the fallen sinful nature of just being human. john macarthur is a great resource, i read alot of his books-glad you highlighted this

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 13, 2011 at 12:32 pm

      Thanks for “swinging by” Nellie! I think mom’s worry a lot more too than we might have when we were younger. I know I have always worried, but as a mom, I now have added worries that make it all worse. Praise God for His grace!

       
  5. Jessica

    January 13, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    I really needed to hear this today ma’am. Thanks for the inspiring post. 🙂

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 13, 2011 at 12:32 pm

      So glad you came by! 🙂

       
  6. floyd

    January 13, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Well I’m no different, I pray daily for God to take my worries, doubts, fears, anxieties, and stress. Most of us have come to rely so much on the flesh of our senses that we choke out the miracle of God’s hand in our life. I constantly try to quote to myself God’s word, “What can the world do to me”? “Whom shall I fear”? In the end worry is just that; fear. We need to heed Jesus’ commands, “FEAR NOT, FOR I HAVE OVERCOME THE WORLD”!

    This may have been your best yet! You are blossoming like a flower as a writer. Great job April!

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 13, 2011 at 12:51 pm

      You’re right…worry is just fear, displayed in a different way than we normally think of fear! For me, it’s a minute by minute, sometimes second by second struggle. i think the questions you ask yourself are great! Thanks!

       
  7. Mom

    January 13, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    I was recently asked, “Do you ever feel guilt?” “Of course,” I said, “I’m a mother.” “Do you ever worry?” “Of course,” I exclaimed, “I’m a mother!” As mothers, we do worry about our children and feel guilty every time something goes wrong in their lives: “It must be something I did or didn’t do…” Laying our children on the altar is probably the hardest thing we can do but the best thing for them – and for mom! Who are we to think that we can do a better job with them than God can? We need to remember, that we may have birthed them and raised them, but they belong to God. It IS our nature to worry, but it is that very nature that we should be warring against. I’m right there with you, April; I imagine myself fighting this fight until the Lord returns!

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 13, 2011 at 12:59 pm

      I think I will be fighting this until then as well. I think this is one of those thorn in the flesh things that I will have to deal with; God trying to make me lean more on Him. For years I have had too many road blocks in my way to work on this. I’m working my way back to allowing God more control in the area of worry, among others. Love ya!

       
  8. Nikole Hahn

    January 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    I’m a worrier. Yep…worried earlier this week. It gave me a migraine. Then, my conversation with God went something like this:

    “I say I trust you, love you, and believe in you, and I KNOW you have been there, even taken care of my situations, but I know this week’s actions didn’t SHOW you. Please forgive me.”

    And He did take care of it. I worried…for nothing.

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 13, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      Isn’t it funny how sometimes God lets us go through the crap that our worrying causes and then when we turn to Him, He takes care of it! 🙂

       
  9. Tony Alicea

    January 13, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Are you calling me a sinner!?? 🙂

    Seriously though, this is really good April. Coincidentally, I’m faced with a situation where I have a perfect opportunity to worry. I’m leaving to Brazil on the 22nd and we just got word that our visa applications were rejected because we signed in the wrong place (I don’t read Portuguese!!).

    I have to go down to the consulate in person tomorrow (an hour drive away). Then it will take 3-5 days to process and Monday is a holiday!

    We’re cutting it crazy close. But you know what, I have put it in God’s hands. That’s a big deal for me.

    “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 14, 2011 at 7:29 am

      Wow, talk about a situation to worry in. I am glad to see that you are trying to turn it over to God. I am not sure that I would, or at the very east, not easily!

       

Leave a Reply

 
