RSS

Is Joy Easy or Hard for You?

20 Jan

Over at Faith Barista the question was asked…

Is joy easy or hard for you?

First, to really understand how I would answer this question, I have to take a good look at what joy is.

Merriam Webster’s Dictionary describes joy as:

a) the emotion evoked by well-being, success, or good fortune or by the prospect of possessing what one desires: delight: the expression or exhibition of such emotion: gaiety

b) a state of happiness or felicity: bliss

c) a source or cause of delight

Joy is hard if that’s the way the secular world looks at it! But the Bible talks about joy differently in many, many Scriptures. One of those is:

Therefore, since we have been made right in God’s sight by faith, we have peace with God because of what Jesus Christ our Lord has done for us. Because of our faith, Christ has brought us into this place of undeserved privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing God’s glory. We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance.  ~Romans 5:1-3

You see joy comes from faith. It cannot be obtained by circumstance. Joy is also, always there even during hard times.

And another:

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Against such there is no law.  ~Galatians 5:22-23

According to God, joy is a fruit of the Spirit. It is one of those fruits that should be in our lives even during the hard times. We are to have joy always.

So, back to the question…is joy easy or hard for me…to be honest, it’s hard; or maybe it’s feeling joy that is hard. Because I have Christ in my life, joy is part of me because the Holy Spirit dwells in me. But feeling that joy, believing that it’s there…that’s the hard part.

I have spent years dealing with bitterness toward certain circumstances/people. I was bitter at things that happened, bitter the fact that my life and the dreams I had for it were gone. I lost sight of my joy; misplaced it, if you will. I am working my way out of that place now and I am slowly seeing that joy does “come in the morning” as the Scriptures said. I can’t wait until I can find that joy again completely!

FaithBaristaLLogo2

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Is Joy Easy or Hard for You?

  1. floyd

    January 20, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Great thoughts, I think we’re all in the same boat, struggling in the flesh and not dwelling on His spirit within us. Wisdom for God’s use doesn’t come easy for any of us including our examples in the Bible. I’m beginning to think our terms of endurance are directly relative to our learning or giving it up to God.
    You and I my sister are in the same boat, while we are struggling, I appreciate the good God given company. We are enduring together.

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 20, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      I think that enduring together and learning together is one of those things that God uses to push us even further though than we might be on our own. So sharing these experiences helps us and holds up accountable.

       
  2. Michael

    January 20, 2011 at 11:45 am

    It’s been tough. Especially the last bit. But I believe that all is about to change.

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 20, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      Fantastic! I am so glad to hear that God is moving you into joy!

       
  3. Jason

    January 20, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    It’s very hard for me in general although God’s blessed me with a lot more of it so far this year. Good post, April.

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 20, 2011 at 1:47 pm

      You know, Jason, I haven’t known you long, but in that short time I have actually “seen” more joy in you. It’s a great thing to watch!

       
  4. Sheryl

    January 20, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    I love your juxtaposition of the world’s definition and God’s. I’m with you on joy being a difficult feeling (for me it’s at times), but it being part of the fruit of the Spirit. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 21, 2011 at 8:37 am

      So glad you could “visit”!

       
  5. FaithBarista Bonnie

    January 21, 2011 at 11:59 am

    I love how you ended with honesty – it gives me encouragement that we are all on the same journey – and that joy is something still God has for us, regardless of where we are. Thank you for this beautiful post, April.

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 21, 2011 at 12:17 pm

      Thank you Bonnie for the great prompts that you continue to give.

       
  6. Dustin

    January 21, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    I’m with you- its tough because bitterness can easily set in and take over. Thanks for the reminder that “joy comes in the morning” – I certainly forget that… often.

     
    • apesydaisy

      January 21, 2011 at 2:25 pm

      So true Dustin. Thanks for visiting!

       

Leave a Reply

 
