RSS

Is it really Valentine’s Day again?

14 Feb
Anthropomorphic Valentine, circa 1950-1960

Image via Wikipedia

Valentine’s Day always holds mixed feelings for me.

I love to be able to lavish gifts on my son, even small gifts, and he loves to have me as his Valentine every year. Since he is now 9 years old and heading into those teenage years all too soon, I will take being his Valentine as long as I possibly can. So, I buy him little gifts and try to spend some extra time on Valentines Day each year to show him just how much I love him.

Valentine’s traditions are also a thing that I can either like or dislike depending on the aspect we are discussing and the people involved. For instance, I cannot stand how holidays are so very commercialized and Valentine’s Day is one of the worst. My thought is, and has always been, that if you are not giving me flowers at some point throughout the year and showing me how much you love me every single day, then please do not give me something on Valentine’s Day because it won’t mean anything to me. Now, if a friend sent me something that would be different, but I am talking about when in a relationship.

Valentine’s Day also holds mixed emotions for me because I am single. On the one hand, I would rather be single and happy on Valentine’s Day than in a relationship that is not right. On the other hand, it’s another reminder from society that I should be in love and happy. Yes, I want to be in love; yes, I get very lonely sometimes, but I shouldn’t have to be in a relationship to be happy. I don’t need a man in my life to make happy; all I need is God. But do I want a man in my life? Yes, most definitely. I miss companionship and love. I want to spend my day in and day out life with someone who loves me. So, Valentine’s Day is hard for me every year because I am swamped from the world with the fact that I should be in love.

What the commercialization of Valentine’s forgets to do is honor those of us who are single for whatever reason. It forgets to say, “It’s ok to be single, even on Valentine’s Day”.

So, to those of you who are single, please know that I get it and that it’s OK to be single on Valentine’s Day! God is our Valentine!! He’s the husband to the husband-less (which means that he is there for those of us who are single (male or female); in ways that even a spouse could never be). Celebrate your singleness today! And if you get lonely tonight when all is said and done and you sit wishing that you had a companion, like I might be…than know that I will be your Valentine…you don’t have to be anything but a friend (face to face or on the blogosphere) to be my Valentine!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Is it really Valentine’s Day again?

  1. floyd

    February 14, 2011 at 11:27 am

    A-men Sister! God’s love in us makes us way better than any earthly “Valentine” could be! We are all one another’s Valentines. Happy Valentines Day! We all belong to God! WooHoo!

     
  2. PuzzlingChristian

    February 14, 2011 at 11:53 am

    “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.” (1 Corinthians 13:4-7)

    In case you have forgotten,
    Remember Valentine’s Day,
    Give cards, candy or flowers,
    And celebrate it every day!

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

     
  3. Jason

    February 14, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    Chocolate. Get chocolate. And ice cream. OOOH! And Swedish Fish. Then put them all in front of your son. Watch him destroy them. Then he’ll be up until 1 or 2 in the morning and Valentine’s Day will be over! 🙂

     
    • apesydaisy

      February 14, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      Oh no, if I’m getting chocolate, ice cream and swedish fish I’m getting them for me!

       

Leave a Reply

 
