RSS

Seeing the shapes in the clouds

14 Feb

Well, today is definitely a Monday! UGH

My morning started off waking up a few minutes late (as usual). My son decided he didn’t want to do anything this morning without voicing his displeasure and then poured on the tears over getting in trouble. Finally, we climbed in the car (5 minutes late) only to have him ask me a question that didn’t need asking. At this point, I was frustrated enough and yelled the answer at him. (Yes, I am an imperfect mom who sometimes really screws up). So, after tears, an apology for yelling and discussion about the way he should have gone about the morning, we set off to start our day.

Both of us are now trying to get to a good place and get back on track for the day. As we are driving, the sun starts to lighten the sky a little more and the clouds are abundant. My son begins saying the things he sees in the clouds; there’s a snake, an alligator, a crocodile with a fluffy hat, a pig eating a pig eating a (something or other)…I laugh at his silliness and try desperately to find a few shapes to come back with. My skills at this fun game are limited this morning…my brain won’t find a happy place as easily as my son’s today.

I get to work and start checking voicemail, emails, etc. In the midst of all of that, a problem that we have been trying

to fix for two weeks now comes back again. The solution we were told would work does not even come close. So, now we are trying to find another solution. I am fielding Reader Representative calls for an article that was in the Sunday paper that has people miffed. I’m trying to get some things done for my part-time job this week as well that they want done faster, even though I really can’t. And I’m in the middle of a class, that I love, but that is a little time-consuming. In all of this, I have to find time for me and time for me and my son. And then there are the worries about the finances right now and whether or not I will be able to do everything I need/want to do with my income tax check when it comes in. It’s a stressful day and as I type this, I feel the stress even more.

But I am desperately trying to just take this one thing/one step/one day at a time. I am trying to do something that my son reminded me of this morning….I am trying to see the shapes in the clouds…

Bowl of clouds

There's a bunny rabbit and a lizard! Image by kevindooley via Flickr

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “Seeing the shapes in the clouds

  1. Tammy

    February 14, 2011 at 10:51 am

    Love how God uses our kids to teach us. 🙂

     
    • apesydaisy

      February 14, 2011 at 10:58 am

      I know, it’s always amazing right?

       
  2. floyd

    February 14, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Look close at the shapes. God has one picked out specifically for you today. We all have our days of stress and sometimes despair, but the difference as you already know is that God knows your needs, He will supply, He will bless you and your son. God is allowing your son to see the love from you in caring and worrying for him like a good mom. He also will follow your lead as you lay your worries and fears at the feet of our Father. By the way, you’re not alone today. I prayed over some of my own worries and fears this morning, God’s reminding all of us He’s in control, He’s also using your son to remind all of us to look for God in His creation. Surely if He can sustain all of life at this very second, He can take care of our needs today and everyday. I’m praying for you and your son. Be comforted by God today and may He continue to Bless You Beyond Measure.

     
    • apesydaisy

      February 14, 2011 at 10:59 am

      Thank you Floyd. You have no idea what your words meant to me today. You are truly one of my many blessings.

       
  3. Tony Alicea

    February 14, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Sounds like a crazy day so far. Praying it gets better. P.S. I think you are wonderful, April. 🙂

     
    • apesydaisy

      February 14, 2011 at 12:56 pm

      It’s working it’s way to better slowly, thanks! 🙂 P.S. Tony, I think you are too! Thanks so much for allowing me to be one of your friends and get to know you. You are an amazing man!

       
  4. Jason

    February 14, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    I’m sorry the day’s been so hard. I hope it’s rebounded a bit.

     
    • apesydaisy

      February 14, 2011 at 4:25 pm

      It has and now I’m off so its even better

       

Leave a Reply

 
