RSS

You will find rest

03 Mar

Today, over at the Faith Barista we are discussing rest. As I was thinking about this post, I thought…rest? What is that? I think I vaguely remember something called rest years ago, long before work, kids, life…Then I ran across this Scripture

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. ~Matthew 11:29

I got to thinking about this verse and, as my mother taught me, I began to break it down so I would fully understand it.

yoke – frame for carrying a load

We all carry stuff around with us everyday. When we are kids, the yoke is light for the most part. Our biggest worries are whether or not we will get to play with our friends today or when Susie Q tells us she’s not our friend anymore over a misunderstanding. Then we’re teenagers. Now are yoke is carrying boyfriend/girlfriend troubles, peer pressure, general teenage angst, etc. Then we become adults; we start our jobs in the world, we get married, have families, try to have lives and our yokes become heavier and heavier. And if our life contains tragedy or hardships beyond the norm, our yoke can be even heavier than ever.

Have you ever noticed that it’s not horses or donkeys that typically carry yokes? It’s usually oxen and even then, it’s usually two of them to carry one yoke. Our bodies, both physically and spiritually, were never meant to carry so much.

In the Scripture listed above, Christ tells us to take His yoke on ourselves. But it goes on in verse 30 to say

For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

See Christ knew that all our worries, fears, problems, etc. would weigh on us so heavily. When He died on the cross, He died for our sins and as a wonderful bonus, he takes our heavy yoke and replaces it with his easy one. He wants to carry the heavy yoke for us. That’s real rest.

Today, I challenge you myself, to take on the yoke of Christ and actually rest!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2011 in NEW

 

14 responses to “You will find rest

  1. kristinherdy

    March 3, 2011 at 7:47 am

    I need this. I got an email yesterday about yet another thing I’m signing up to do at church. I’m excited about it, but at the same time, worried I’ve got too much.

    I’m ditching drama. I have some of that relationships drama going on now. I’m going to gracefully recuse myself so that it doesn’t weight me down anymore.

    I need to find rest. What am I doing on my day off? Already up, reading blogs 😉

     
    • apesydaisy

      March 3, 2011 at 7:57 am

      I hear you. I have a lot of commitments too and sometimes I just need to take a breather. One of the things I do from time to time is sleep late and lay around on a Saturday when my son is at his dads house. I sometimes feel lazy doing that, but other times I feel like I just need a day to veg-out, you know? Reading blogs can be peaceful if you allow yourself to take your time and not get stressed. I hope all the other stuff works out for you! 🙂

       
  2. floyd

    March 3, 2011 at 7:57 am

    That’s a great point, not just trying to do the will of our Father, but actually finding rest in Him during our days. Our burdens even sometimes loaded on us by our own actions He’s willing to carry for us. I needed to hear this today. Thanks April

     
    • apesydaisy

      March 3, 2011 at 8:00 am

      I think it’s a lesson we all need to hear from time to time, myself most definitely included! I hope you find rest today!

       
  3. Jason

    March 3, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Honestly, most times, I don’t get “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” I feel more like “My yoke is pretty darn crushing ’cause you don’t know where I want you to pull it.” But I’m working on that. 🙂

     
    • apesydaisy

      March 3, 2011 at 9:20 am

      I have felt that way before too. However, I think in your case, if you will take the time to rest in Him, you will find that still small voice that tells you where to go next. I know you are discouraged and frustrated and I am praying for you.

       
  4. Pat

    March 3, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    “Be still and know…” Ps. 46:10

     
  5. Michael

    March 3, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    April, this is so very timely today.

     
  6. Loni

    March 3, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    We do indeed carry too much . . . and it’s learning to say no and REST! Thanks for sharing!

     
    • apesydaisy

      March 3, 2011 at 8:23 pm

      So glad you visited and were able to get something from the post!

       
  7. Sheryl

    March 3, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    A great reminder—thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
