RSS

Adoption Day!

12 Nov

Dad with Moi at orphanage

12 years ago today, the adoption for my brother, Moises, was official in the United States. To say that we have been truly blessed is an understatement. But, let me back up an tell you the story…

 

When I was a senior in high school (way back when), we had some friends in Tyler who worked for a small church just outside of town. Every year this church took a group of people on a mission trip to Mexico during the summer. For several years they had been asking us to go but it just never worked out. Finally, the day after I graduated high school, we were able to go.

 

We set up camp at a church in Laredo and were told we would go over to Nuevo Laredo, Mexico over the course of the week as well as running a VBS at the church in Laredo. The first full day in Laredo, the leader of the trip and the pastor of the church in Mexico asked my father, who is a doctor, to join them in Nuevo Laredo that day to take a look at some of the sick children in the orphanage.

Moi as a Baby

 

When my father came back to where we were staying, he told my mom about this one baby (about seven months old) who was very ill. He was having trouble breathing, among other issues. He was puffed up on steroids (they are over thecounter in Mexico) in the orphanage’s attempt to help get him well. From all the things going on, my father thought it was possible that the baby had some heart issues on top of everything else (which thankfully turn out not to be the case). My mother, who had yet to visit the orphanage, knew immediately that God had set this child aside for our family. She told my father, “I want him”.

Moi gets his glasses

 

Now, you need to understand that not only did this baby have major health issues and was in an orphanage in Mexico, but my parents were already in their mid-forties. They had one child who was off in the world somewhere in his mid-twenties, one who had just graduated high school (me) and one who would begin her freshman year that fall. They were almost done…almost to the place they would have an empty nest and be able to do whatever they wanted. But God had other plans and, praise the Lord, my parents were willing to listen!

 

Moi playing little league

The first step to getting Moises was to get a medical visa and get him treated in the US immediately. That proved a lot harder than originally thought. Over the course of a couple of months, my parents worked hard, traveling back and forth to Mexico, to get Moises here on a medical visa. I remember the day they were coming home from another trip to Mexico. They called us and said to meet them outside. When they got out of the car, they had Moises in their arms! We were all so happy and everyone was crying!

 

 

The next year and a half were a real struggle. Mexico did not want to grant my parents the adoption and there was even a struggle in the States. My parents were able to track down Moises biological mother and get signed consent for my parents to adopt him. Finally, after a lot of prayers, tears and struggles, Moises was legally adopted in the United States of America on November 12, 1998.

 

I can’t imagine our lives without Moi. He has always had a very big personality. He’s the comedian in the family and makes us all laugh. He is great at imitations and is an old soul. He’s been so much a part of our lives, almost since the beginning of his, that I cannot begin to imagine him not ever having been here.

 

Next month, Moises turns 14….14!!! It’s amazing how time has just flown by. He is turning into a great young man and I am more than proud to call him my brother!!

Happy Adoption Day, Moises!!

Moi at Lamar Football Game

Moi helping in the yard

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Adoption Day!

  1. Lauren BeDair

    November 12, 2010 at 11:14 am

    I remember the first time I met Moi… It was around Christmas (probably the night we saw you in a Christmas Carol) and Daph was babysitting me. We all went to eat and he was in a high chair… Can’t believe it has been long enough for him to be 14 now!
    I had never heard the story of his adoption until now. Very touching to say the least. Thank God for people who are sensitive to God’s will…
    Love ya

     
    • apesydaisy

      November 12, 2010 at 11:56 am

      Lauren, I remember that night because Moi kept pointing to the stage and saying, “Aba” (couldn’t say April). 🙂 It has been such a blessing to have him around! I am glad you have now been able to read his story.

       
  2. Jamie

    November 12, 2010 at 11:38 am

    I’m glad you shared this April! What a great testimony of God’s love and how lives are changed when we simply obey!

     
    • apesydaisy

      November 12, 2010 at 11:57 am

      Amen Jamie! I love how mom and dad just said yes with no questions. Thanks for reading!

       
  3. floyd

    November 12, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Great story, thanks for sharing all the blessings in your life from God. Keep em’ coming!

     
  4. Reba Bowling

    November 12, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Dear April, I remember that day also. Love Moi very much. He is one of my Grand Children, Just as munch as any of the rest of you. This is a good write up. LOVE YOUR GRANDMOTHER, REBA:

     
    • apesydaisy

      November 12, 2010 at 2:31 pm

      Thanks Mom! He’s most definitely one of us!!

       
  5. Michael

    November 15, 2010 at 11:08 am

    That is so cool.

     
    • apesydaisy

      November 15, 2010 at 12:00 pm

      Michael, it has definitely been a blessing and an adventure!

       

Leave a comment