RSS

Not Your Average Mom

03 Dec

I will admit that I am a sensitive person with some self-esteem issues. I tend to compare myself to others rather than being proud of who and where I am. One of those areas that I compare myself is in being a mother. I look around at the moms I know and they are cooking dinners almost every night, doing crafts with their kids, and filling out scrapbooks.

I am not that mom…

Yes, I am a single mother and therefore my life is slightly different; and yes, I have to work and therefore my life is slightly different. There are many days that I wish I was that type of mom. But I have to say that the more I think about it, the more I think that even if I was able to be a stay at home mom, cook more, spend time with the family more, that I might not be the stereotypical kind of mom anyway.

You see, all my life, I have been very independent. I think for myself, I make decisions on my own, I am technologically inclined, I am a creative type (which is a different breed in and of itself); I am just generally not the typical girl. I didn’t do cheer-leading or dance, piano or sports. I was the girl heavily involved in church; I was in choir and drama.

A friend of mine and I were talking last night about this very subject…being a stereotypical type of mom. I decided that even if given the opportunity (God willing one day I will be) to be a stay at home mom, I will still work (from home doing web design) and I will still be involved in church, singing and drama. I am not the type of woman who can just sit still all day every day.

So, for all you moms out there who struggle with not being the stereotypical mom that maybe your mother, your sister, your aunt, the lady on television is…REJOICE! God created you to be different, so ENJOY it! Relish the chance to be who you are and who God made you to be! He made you different for a reason. If we were all June Cleaver, this world would be a boring place. Love yourself for who you are!

And if you are a stereotypical mom, please know that we love you just the same and are grateful that there are some of you out there. You balance us out and we love you!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Not Your Average Mom

  1. floyd

    December 3, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Thank God for you… I have a wife with similar qualities and attitude. One of the many strengths that accompany that type of personality is the one that helps develop children into strong, independent adults. God Bless

     
  2. Joanne Norton

    December 3, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Believe me, I’ve always been outside the “norm” when it comes to “mom-ing” or “g-ma-ing”. I love to be on the road, hang out, read, write. I clean, cook, do laundry, and whatever else NEEDS to be done, but they aren’t my “calling”… at church I’ll do lots of things, but working in the kitchen or nursery just aren’t in my anytime-desired list. Me assumption: When God created me, placed me in the family I was in, and fed certain characteristics into my life, that’s the direction I need to go. Others of my dear friends are very much the dear household lady, and I treasure them and what they do. [I’m also glad that even though they know I’m usually “outside the box”, they adore and treasure me, too! How kind of my Father!]

    So just be grateful to be what He has created you to be and that’s all that counts, even if other folks don’t quite understand or accept it.

    Blessings.

     
    • apesydaisy

      December 4, 2010 at 6:19 pm

      Thanks Joanne. Nice to know I’m not alone

       
  3. Hazel I. Moon

    December 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Loved your post. Thank God, we are not all the same!! You in your world and me in mine, and all of us IN Christ!
    We are part of the body and each part has a different function. I laugh and say that I am a liver (because I LIVE for Jesus)

     

Leave a comment